Skip to main content

Please go back to portrait mode for best experience

Mr. Vikram Singh Mehta

Lead Independent Director

Mr. Vikram Singh Mehta completed his Bachelor’s Degree in Mathematics (Hons.) from St. Stephens College, Delhi University. He has a Master’s Degree in Politics and Economics (Hons.) from Magdalen College, Oxford University, UK and a Master’s Degree in Energy Economics from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University in USA. Mr. Vikram Singh Mehta was until November, 2012 Chairman of the Shell Group of Companies in India. Mr. Vikram Singh Mehta’s career began as a Member of the Indian Administrative Service of the Government of India in 1978.

Mr. Vikram Singh Mehta, Independent Director and Chairman of Governance, Nomination and Remuneration Committee has been appointed as the Lead Independent Director with effect from 1st April, 2021.

As a Lead Independent Director, Mr. Mehta has been entrusted, inter alia, with the following roles and responsibilities:

  • Provide leadership to the independent directors and liaise between the chairperson of the Board and independent directors without inhibiting direct communication between them
  • Ensure Board effectiveness to maintain high-quality governance of the Company and the effective functioning of the Board.
  • Convene the exclusive Meeting(s) of Independent Directors, set agenda, preside over the meetings of the independent directors and providing feedback to the chairperson/board of directors after such meetings;
  • Preside over meetings of the Board at which the Chairperson is not present;
  • Identify the most critical issues for the Board to deal with and assist the Board in achieving consensus on important issues;
  • Communicate to the Chairman and management, as appropriate, any decisions reached, suggestions, views or concerns expressed by Independent Directors at their Meetings or outside of the Board meetings;
  • Play the role of a facilitator outside the Boardroom, especially, on contentious issues;
  • Provide candid feedback to MD or CEO, CFO post Meeting of Independent Directors;
  • Take the lead role, along with Chairman in assessing the performance evaluation of the Board and that of individual director.”

Meet our Leaders

Mr. Anand Mahindra

Chairman, Mahindra Group

Dr. Anish Shah

MD & CEO, Mahindra Group

Mr. Rajesh Jejurikar

ED & CEO, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. C.P. Gurnani

MD & CEO, Tech Mahindra

Ms. Abanti Sankaranarayanan

EVP, Group Public Affairs

Mr. Amarjyoti Barua

EVP, Group Strategy

Mr. Amit Kumar Sinha

MD & CEO, Mahindra Lifespaces

Ms. Asha Kharga

EVP, Group Customer & Brand

Mr. Hemant Sikka

President, Farm Sector

Mr. Kavinder Singh

MD & CEO, Mahindra Holidays

Mr. Manoj Bhat

Group CFO

Mr. Mohit Kapoor

EVP, Group Technology

Mr. Naveen Raju

EVP, Group Legal

Mr. Puneet Renjhen

EVP, Group Partnerships & Alliances

Mr. R. Velusamy

President, Automotive Technology & Product Development

Mr. Rajeshwar Tripathi

CHRO, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. Ramesh Iyer

Vice Chairman & MD, Mahindra Finance

Mr. Rampraveen Swaminathan

MD & CEO, Mahindra Logistics

Mr. Ruzbeh Irani

President, Group HR

Mr. Veejay Ram Nakra

President, Auto sector

Mr. Vinod Sahay

President, Aerospace & Defence; Chief Purchase Officer, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. Vivek Agarwal

President, APJI & Corporate Development, Tech Mahindra

Mahindra Group - Arrow Direction Top Icon